Dispatch Me Some Food Please (Updated)

Clarence Blackmon, 81 via ABC News
Clarence Blackmon, 81 [via ABC News]

[see update below]

911 operators are sort of a nebulous presence in society. We call, they answer, they send someone to help. To some, maybe it’s just a job, and they put in their hours and go home, but We imagine most to be people who really want to help people. This is a thing about an awesome operator.

An elderly man who’d just returned home after months in the hospital said he was hungry, had no food and no one to turn to for help. So he dialed 911.

“I can’t do anything. I can’t go anywhere. I can’t get out of my damn chair.” Clarence Blackmon, 81, of Fayetteville, North Carolina, told the 911 operator, according to ABC station WTVD in Durham.

“I said, ‘I’m not broken, I’m not bleeding, and I’m not in crisis. I just want somebody to help me buy some food,'” he told ABC News.

Some folks would’ve taken this situation a little too seriously, probably, and charged Mr. Blackmon with some sort of misdemeanor or some shit, but not Marilyn Hinson.

“He was hungry,” 911 operator Marilyn Hinson told WTVD. “I’ve been hungry. A lot of people can’t say that, but I can, and I can’t stand for anyone to be hungry.”

An hour and a half later, Hinson showed up at Blackmon’s door, carrying a box of groceries, Blackmon told ABC News. … And then she stayed and made him a few ham sandwiches.

Mr, Blackmon says he was “overwhelmed” by Ms. Hinson’s kindness. Who wouldn’t be?

“She is such a delightful lady,” Blackmon said..

Indeed, she is Mr. Blackmon. And thank you for what you do, Ms. Hinson.

UPDATE:

from the link;

Several news outlets, including ABC News, wrote about the good deed, and food donations are pouring in, Blackmon said.

“They keep bringing it in by the armloads,” he told ABC News. “My cupboards are full. I’ve never had such prosperity.”

[…]

He has so much food, that he’s called a food bank to share it with others.

Paying it forward and such.

Leave a Reply

